Can he be honest with himself?

troublemaker

I'm new to this, so I hope my first post isn't too long. My husband and I recently married after dating for 1 1/2 years. Of course, during that time I've asked about his past relationships including ones that lead up to us meeting. We're both in our mid 30's, second marriages, without children. When I would ask questions, I thought I sensed some hesitation in his voice, but I really did ask questions out of curiosity and not trying to deem his worth. He did tell me that he has been in 4 relationships in the past two years. I thought that was a lot, but didn't want to make a judgment call.

However, I've recently chatted with a girl he use to occasionally have sex with. She lives in his home town and is close with his mother. She told me that he's been in and out of relationships, including with a woman which he broke it off after meeting me. When I met him he told me that he had no attachments and wasn't seeing anyone. I didn't believe her right away, but I did some snooping and found out that it was true. I've asked him about her (not letting him know that I know) and he said they were just having sex.

I'm a firm believer that what ever happened in the past, should stay in the past; however, not only has he lied to me, I feel like he can't be honest with himself enough to truly know if he wants to be with. He sounds like a man who goes from one relationship to another just to be in a relationship. Not sure if I can trust all that he's said in our relationship now. It's gotten me crazy and wishing I had more time to think about this before getting married. BUT - we're married.

Any thoughts?

Actually, it sounds as though, having had four unsuccessful relationships in two years, he found someone he could really commit to - YOU.

Have you any reason to believe he's been unfaithful to you, when you say you're not sure you can trust all he's said in your relationship? If not, really, leave the past in the past.