What to do in a loveless marriage

homedad

I am married with a young daughter. I have stayed at home with her since she was born. I worked for several years while my wife finished her college degree. She then went for an advanced degree in a well-paying field. We've been together for 10 years. Slowly, our relationship has devolved into nothing. I'm the nanny, cook, maid, etc., but certainly not the husband anymore. I've been sleeping on the couch for 3 years. We don't kiss or have any kind of affection, despite my attempts. I asked her point blank if she still loved me, or just liked having me around to take care of things, she skated around the question and refused to answer. Her schedule makes couples counseling near-impossible. I have been depressed for several years and I know this missing part of my life is partly responsible. I love my daughter and want to do what's best, I just don't know if I can spend my entire life in a loveless marriage. I need help and advice.

I was going to suggest exactly what CAD's said above. Maybe it is now your time to get out and start changing your surroundings. I assume your daughter is school age or very soon? It is time for you to grow and prosper out there.

When i'm out and about and mixing at work, i feel rejuvenated. What about going back to school pt or working pt and seeing how supportive your wife is with this change?

Seems like you've put forth an effort.

If she hasn't returned any effort, leaving is probably your only option.

Also, having parents who never communicate or possibly fight a lot (you didn't mention that but it may digress to that) is worse than having two separated parents.

I read a quote recently that its actually better to have both parents because it increases the childs intelligence... but for overall benefit I think its best to have two separate.