Trading: My Passion and My Skeptics

Quirkster

Technical Analysis for stocks (i.e. charting) is my life's passion. I literally could sit there looking at charts all day long and it never feels like work. I have always envisioned one day it would lead to me raising enough capital to pursue any of my other life's desires such as music. I'm very proud of how far I've come, especially since I'm entirely self-taught.

My results the last three years (especially this year) are a testament to it - currently up 31% for 2017 and beating just about every major index ....... and yet doubt from one man (my uncle) still looms. This is a self-made man who's owned plenty of different businesses and up until 2016 had his own private friends/famly fund run by a man who used to be a trader on the NYSE. He is someone I look up to as a mentor and has also lent me money on two different occasions when I was trying to trade full time.

He operates from the assumption that the market is all BS and what I'm trying to do "can't be done." No matter what happens, I can't seem to get this man to acknowledge my progress. He tailed me a on a trade a month ago that turned out to be a loser and was real quick to text me a petty "See, not so easy huh". Yet, when I show him what I've made for the year he won't respond. He also continues to cling to initial losses when I first started out as a trader.

Had he stuck it out with me, I would have already made up any losses and been largely profitable for him. It's crazy because he of all people should understand the net sum aspect of trading i.e. as long as your winners outside your losers you don't have to win every trade. It's no different than how he came into wealth - he had a couple of companies that were really successful and a bunch of them that floundered fast. As a business owner how can he not more closely at the situation to see which way I was trending?