Uggh Cannot Cure "New Pet" Fever!

Sunny1607307996

I am a college student FINALLY moving out of my parents house in August. I am extremely lucky with my housing; my friend's dad bought a house and is renting it out to her friends. The rules on pets: I can have anything I want as long as it stays in my room.

I asked about the rule because I am already bringing my fish and 14 year old corn snake with me. (I also have a dog, but my parents and I both decided she would be happier living with my parents, mostly because there are 2 other dogs to keep her company, a fenced in yard, and lots of people to take her on walks).

Every since hearing about "the rule", I cannot shake the feeling that I really, really want a new pet. This is a feeling that I've had for roughly 2 weeks now. I was hoping it would go away overnight, but it just keeps getting stronger!

I have been researching pets but my options are rather limited. I cannot get anything that is nocturnal, since I will be housing the pet in my bedroom and I am a light sleeper. I cannot get anything that eats live crickets. (It's not the ick factor, its the fact that crickets are noisy, smelly, and can escape). I cannot get anything that is too expensive or too high-maintence. I cannot get anything that cannot spend 98% of it's time in my room.

This basically limits my options to a fire-belly newt, a fancy mouse, or another snake. I've already had snakes and mice, and a newt sounds sort of interesting, but I would have to buy a filter and special-order the newt.