Thinking about where I've come from- abuse or discipline?

anvilmaster

At the moment, I'm thinking about my life growing up. Right now I'm a sophomore in college, realizing more and more I have anger leftover toward my parents. I suppose I'm trying to put it all together, I don't know how much of it is my fault, how much of it is normal/okay.

It started mainly after my mother remarried. I'd argue with my mother and obviously be punished. My sister and I spent weekends at my dads, and little normal fights would come up between my sister and I, and my dad would deal with them. But when we got back home my sister would repeat the story, and we'd have hours talking about it- at first they'd pull apart my story (honestly, some of the blame for those fights was mine, but not all). It moved from that to mother and my step father not even giving me a chance to share my story. Neither of my sisters was ever punished for anything, I used to be very bitter toward them. Usually the punishment was doing all their chores and then some.

I don't remember exactly what argument brought it about, but, i came home from school one day, and everything was gone in my room. literally everything, in place of the bed, there was a sleeping bag on the floor. Every little thing I did, or they accused me of doing resulted in a punishment. frequently, the times I tried most to be apologetic, they'd say I've got that look on my face, which would aggravate them more. for a span of two years, I wasn't allowed to have any friends over, or participate in any activity other than school or church. I began to long to be at school just to get away from the house. during that time, I'd wake up in the morning, go to school, and be dropped off at our barn to shovel manure until sunset, then I'd come back home, eat, be allowed to do homework, then go to sleep in the sleeping bag on the floor- nothing "fun".