In a Dilema !!!!!!!!!!

I have been a teacher in the same school now for 11 years and various "problems" in my life have cause me to have major financial problems.

Last week, I got an uinterview for a head of department's post (Promotion) in a different school, and although I wasn't offered THAT job, the school were impressed with me and offered me an ASSISTANT HEAD OF DEPARTMENT post, (with more salary than I am on now)

My current boss and rector tell me I SHOULD go for it cos promotion prospects in my career and very rare and this is a great opportunity etc etc.

However, the school where this job is, is 50 MILES away (as oppose to 13 Miles like my current school) and I know for a fact that the extra salary will not be enough to cover travel costs.

The obvious alternative is to move house but herby lies a problem. My current house has a secured loan on it and I just found out that the equity will NOT be enough to pay off the mortgage and secured loan so even If I sold, I'd have zero pounds for a deposit on a new place AND my impared credit rating may effect my ability to borrow.

I don't know what to doooooooooo

Could you rent a place for a while and rent out the house you own? If you can make a monthly 'profit' then you could use that money to pay down the mortgage while your credit improves and sell it later to buy a new place near your new school.

It seems a shame to turn down the chance of promotion because that job may need to further promotion later on.

Could you rent a place for a while and rent out the house you own? If you can make a monthly 'profit' then you could use that money to pay down the mortgage while your credit improves and sell it later to buy a new place near your new school.

It seems a shame to turn down the chance of promotion because that job may need to further promotion later on.