"space," what does that mean???

cheeseburger

hi everyone! im new to this, and i was hoping maybe someone can give me some advice as to what is going on...it might long...and thank you for those who actually take the time to read it.

ive been seeing this guy for about 10 months, and about 3 weeks ago..he told me he needed "space." it was out of nowhere, and so unexpected...i was shocked! he told me not to worry, and to not take it seriously...but how can i not?? it was not until last week that we finally talked, and hung out a couple times....and then out of nowhere, again, he just stops talking to me! im so confused!!! what is he trying to do??? i can tell he has feelings for me, and i know there isnt another girl..i just dont understand why he is doing this. he says he needs time to focus on school, but then when i ask what hes been up to, he says just hanging out with friends...thats not focusing on school!

i know i should just him "space" but what does giving him space actually mean?? do i just ignore him and go about my day? what if he thinks i dont want him anymore? OR do i give him space, but still let him know i care for him...and how does that work without annoying him or invading his "space.??"

i really really like this guy, and i would be so apprecitated if someone could help me understand what is happening!!! thank you!

Give him twice as much space as he thinks he or says he needs, keep all conversations short and don't rush to return his calls unless it is to make or confirm a plan. Initiate calls to him one time for every 5 times he calls you and ask him if the two of you are still exclusive. Tell him nothing about your plan to give him twice as much space as he asked for, simply stay confident and say "that's fine - and when you decide you don't need space let me know and if I don't need space at that point we can resume seeing each other often again.