Feeling insecure about my girlfriend's career.

Hello folks,

I have a bit of a weird problem, and I hope someone can offer me some advice. I am 24 and my girl is 21.

I feel insecure about my girlfriend's career choice. She is studying graphic design at the moment, which is more than fine by me. But she also DJ's as a hobby at some clubs and raves, and for some reason, I feel insecure about that.

She wants to become a superstar DJ someday, alongside her graphic design degree. Whenever I think of her getting big, getting gigs in other cities (she can do it, shes that good), etc, it worries me and makes me feel clingy and needy and I hate it. I cant exactly pinpoint why, maybe coz its jealousy of being famous, or maybe its coz she'll be away often...I just dont know. I know its not me feeling "inadequate" since I have a Masters in Engineering and make a very good living.

The strange part is, I really want her to pursue her dreams. I would be sad if I saw her give up on what she really wants to do!

So whats the solution? Has anyone gone through something like this?

Thanks!

LostBird

Lost bird...

So many men would feel the same.

I doubt you're jealous of her becoming famous. I would imagine you're more worried about the thought of her not 'needing' youin the same way as she does currently?? Also she will be away and surrounded by other people all of the time.....but she will be coming back to you!!!

Your feelings and apprehensions are totally understandable, but, i bet you, she wants you to be 'there with her' and support her all the way - it wouldn't be the same if you couldn't.

Support her dreams, and communicate about your fears and anxieties. I'm sure she'll reassure you.

Good luck!

Hey LB-

I think you are thinking too far ahead here. Plus, I do definitely see insecurity conveyed in your post.