kicked to the curb after graduating!

hey everyone, i could really use some unbiased advice on this situation.....

my story begins at a christmas party roughly a year and a half ago, i initiated the conversation with this guy who after a few months of casual dates and hanging out, he turned into my bf. for the past year and a half, we never had one fight, enjoyed everything from beers to football games and dining out.we enjoyed hanging out with our friends just as much as we enjoyed our alone time. every aspect of the relationship was perfect, we were great friends as we were a couple. he graduated from college in '05 and i graduated this past may. so for my entire senior year, we did the distance thing (4hours). at graduation he bought me a $300 watch and we talked about plans for the rest of the summer. he always reassured his love for me by phone convos on a daily basis, random packages, visits at least twice a month and little facebook messages almost everyday. i never questioned or doubted him.

after i graduated, i moved closer to him (the distance now was only about 40 minutes), and about three weeks after i graduated i started noticing changes...

it started at the beginning of june, he didnt want to come to my friends grad party with me cause he wanted time alone. i respected this and we just hungout the next day. the nextday he was telling me how much of a funk he was in, that he missed his hometown more, enjoyed his time more alone, didnt feel as social as he used to. he told me that he wasnt the same person i fell in love with in college. then over the course of a few weeks, facebook messages became rare, he either didnt respond to texts or left comments that werent as warm, phone calls werent as long and he seemed less enthused to hang out...