Ex wants to get back together but lied

throwawaye

Sorry this is long!

My ex is 1 year younger than me and we dated for 2 years 8 months until Dec. We met when I was 17 and ended up going to the same university, and a great relationship for about 2 1/4 years until I got ill that made me emotionally vacant, unable to do certain things due to physical symptoms and lost my sex drive. I’m in my final year of university and so I couldn’t make as much time for him as he’d liked but he stood by my side through it all.

He however had been unhappy due to these factors and bottled it up until he couldn’t handle it anymore and broke up with me just before Christmas. He had a bad childhood that makes him uncomfortable with speaking up about his feelings, so he bottles it up and gets angry at himself. He had depressive periods that only got worse as our relationship worsened but he didn’t think he had a problem and I couldn’t do anything to get him help. He said he couldn’t tell me how he felt because he couldn’t blame me for being stressed and ill and didn’t want to make me feel worse.

Fast forward to April now, he’s realised our break up were caused by small issues, if he could learn to communicate better and said he wants to get back together. He rebounded with someone about a month and a half after our break up, which is fine, except he lied multiple times about it.

He is my first relationship and I’m his second, and we both chose to be friends after NC for 24 days. Since he was my first everything, I didn’t really know how to handle a breakup.

Lie #1: he lied about who he was with