He decided that he didnt want to put in the effort.. but im still hurt

:icon_sad:

The relationship wasn't long- we dated for a week short of three months and at first it was amazing. He was older than me by 4 years, we are both in our twenties, and he works full time while i am a full time student. It was a bit long distance (he lived an hour and a half away from me), but his parents lived in my town so it wasnt a big deal to come to see me. At first, we spent a whole week together during the holidays when we first started dating, and then after three weeks of dating we became official. He made me feel amazing when we were together, and i truly thought that he wanted a serious relationship with me.

But, then i started seeing that the man i was falling for was starting to make excuses. First, it was not always coming to town to see me, even if he had a day during the weekend to make the trip. When he would come to town, he would spend more time with his friends and make time for me only on Saturday evening... oftentimes barely making any fun plans. I had made time to come see him for a whole weekend before, and another time that i was going to come, i came down with the stomach flu and couldnt come see him, although i was really sad about it.

The part that really hit me was that i felt like i was making more effort to find time for him, freeing up a whole day so we can be together since we saw each other every two weeks sometimes, and he would end up sleeping in and coming to see me in the evenings and then making hundreds of plans with his friends.

so after opening up to him about my expectations for equal effort, he said he couldnt do it and broke up with me.

On one side, i completely understand that he isnt worth my time to be sad about it. but, i cant help being sad. we were supposed to spend the holiday together with his family this weekend, and now i know that he will be a few mins away from me, and i wont even see him.