Girlfriend of 4 years wants to take a break to focus on schooling

Arrow18

Hey, I'm new to this but I needed to get this out and hopefully I can get help.

I've been with my girlfriend for over 4 years now, I'm 18 and she's 21. We met in high school (obviously) but the age gap has never been an issue for us and I'm fairly certain it has no part in this break. 2 months ago she started schooling for Medical Billing and Coding but is also working during weekends. Her schedule is basically 3-10 pm School Mon-Thurs (not including studying while she's home) and 2-10 pm Work every Fri-Sun.

Her reasoning for this break was that she couldn't handle the stress of a relationship while trying to juggle both school and work which I can totally understand. She told me that it wasn't me and that I had nothing to do with her wanting a break, it was entirely for school. She also says by doing this it will make having a relationship with me easier because she won't have to worry about school or about money after it's over. She wants to be on this break until April-ish (that's when her schooling is done) so about 6 months or so. She wants to still talk as "just friends"during this time which is both good but heartbreaking for me at the same time. She didn't want to promise that we'd be back together after the break was over though because she doesn't know what will happen with either one of us. She argues that I might find somebody or that she might even (which would contradict the whole reason for this break) She tells me that she still loves me and that none of the feelings she has for me has changed. We live next door to each as well so I have both the luxury and pain of seeing her every now and then (she spends most of her time at home studying so our time together during the relationship was strained) but she still talks to me everyday. She just wants to cut the whole romantic relationship side of our...relationship.