need serious advice about career/life :(

K07d

hey everyone,

I am a certified veterinary technician. i've been one for about 4.5 years and I just feel like i'm confused. Are you supposed to feel so much anxiety/stress over working? When I had attended school for this career, one of the first things they told us was that vet tech was one of the fastest burnout rate jobs because of how much stress is involved....and I learned they were right pretty fast. I feel like I've been struggling with this since about 6 months into this career.

Some days I feel ok, as long as its not a crazy day and I get done on time. But MOST days-it is VERY high stress and high volume and I don't usually get done right on time. It frustrates me because I feel like I have no time for my own life. I literally go to work, come home, have 3hours to try and get dishes, laundry, cleaning, and taking care of the dog done and then I need to go to bed so I can get up early and do it the next day. And I dread it. I just want to hide in a corner because there is so much involved in my job.

For those who don't know, a vet tech is like 10 jobs in one. We assist in surgeries, we see appointments, we draw blood, give vaccines, run labwork all the way from fecals, urine, to blood. We take xrays and my clinic has ultrasound and endoscope as well. And then there's the cleaning because most vet clinics do not have a cleaning service so vacuuming, mopping, etc is all up to us. I feel as though somedays I'm going to just snap because its so much to do and I just feel like I can hardly function somedays because i feel so exhausted. The Drs (veterinarians) are jerks, pretty similar to human medicine actually. Rude, disrespectful, bossy, helpless, etc and I have a hard time handling it. My schedule gets jerked around a lot....it can be long days (730am-6pm, 8-5pm, etc) and remember, i'm hardly ever actually done at closing time.