Should I follow up with job or focus on personal life

Need some career advice. Specifically in the IT arena.

I currently work in IT for a partner of a large telecom here in north Texas. I basically do website environment support for testing teams which are testing various aspects of the website functionality. I essentially sit in chatrooms and wait if people have problems and then delegate those issues to other teams who might then do a variety of things: restart a server, change a flag setting, install some code, etc. At the end of the day I raise tickets and coordinate others to get work done, not very challenging or exciting work. I'm not necessarily in a managerial role either, although I do delegate work.

I've been doing this for a year and it is stable work. I get to work from home pretty much 5 days a week and job security is fairly good at this point. Only because of this stability have I been able to move forward as an "adult" and finally get my own apartment, enjoy not scraping for cash every month, go to a sporting event once in a while, and in general, be able to have a stable life. At 32, I realize this may be "late" to finally get my feet off the ground so to speak, but I've had a long road to get to this job and this financial range.

Here's the dilemma:

A fellow co-worker (who also works for the same partner, just on a different team) has propositioned me for a possible position as a Java developer. It would be for the same telecom, just in a different project. This co-worker (who is a senior developer and has a few Masters degrees) has mentioned he would have a large say in who gets hired, and has mentioned he could help me with the learning curve of the job, get me acquainted, etc. This is also a time sensitive offer, so I can't exactly sit on it for a few weeks and then get back to him.

It seems like a great opportunity, career wise, and I think it would be challenging work, which is something I would want.