Let go without anyone telling me?

I work in a warehouse and go to school at night. It was advertised as a part time position but they required us to work 8-5 monday through friday. This was difficult being in school but I dealt with it because I needed the money. The entire time I was treated differently by the staff. They would all call me "white boy" or say "you think you're white" including my supervisor. We are all African American. They are all from a depressed major metropolitan american city you may have heard about. I am from the surrounding county which is upper middle class. I suppose this is evident by the way I speak and dress but I treated everyone with respect. I came to work on time, worked hard, and left.

My supervisor really didn't like me. He called me a f*ggot and a retard regularly. When throwing a fit he would get an inch away from my face and scream to intimidate me. I wasn't because I'm a lot younger and bigger than he is, but this is absurdly unprofessional. Every time I made a mistake, no matter how miniscule or understandable he would attempt to belittle me. He even has made comments about me going to college saying "you're wasting your money, you won't graduate".

So out of the blue he casually tells us on a friday that he "wont need a few of us for a few weeks." I was appalled, I don't work there for fun. Missing an entire paycheck is not something my finances can withstand. He assured us that once the work picked up again it would be steady with no interruptions.