confused and unsure

brttny0991

kind of a long story short, my current boyfriend and i got together when i was pregnant. he took the role of dad. my son is 1 1/2 years old and loves his dad. here's where it gets interesting. shortly after we got together i found out he was a meth addict. condition of being with me was to be clean and sober and willing to stay clean once baby was born. he slipped up once or twice while he was still very small. new years eve of 2011 going was the last time he got high. so this recent new years eve i was congratulating him on one year clean. however he slyly admitted he had slipped up "a couple times". i know he loves me and my son and my son loves him. the fact that i'm questioning if i love him is probably a sign that i don't. we had an almost break up on new years day, and his bags are still packed as i am unsure where this relationship is headed.

i find myself nagging him for everything he does (watching my son and cleaning) i am a full time student, he has no job not even a ged and is 30 years old...aka a deadbeat. but he is an AMAZING father to my son ( however a not so great role model)

lately i am contemplating trying to make it work or just giving up

i know people say not to stay with someone for the sake of the child, but i would feel awful and guilty if i just ripped them apart.

so my question is should i break up with him, my best friend and sister say yes, and i know ultimately the decision is mine, but some bystander advice would be helpful.

secondly, if we do breakup, the conditions of him seeing our son is if he stays clean, however, if he lied and hid it from me when we are together obviously he will when we arent together.

i just want to do the right thing for everyone!

I am going to say something controversial... ready? I think you should ditch this dude and forget about the whole "dad" thing. Why?