Long-Term Relationship Advice and Concerns

firefighter173

I have read a few posts by others and this forum seems like a great place to get advice. I am new to here so bear with me. I have been with the same girl for nearly 4 1/2 years which started out as a high school relationship. She is my second girlfriend that has had a relationship that has lasted more than a few weeks. Currently I am in my second year of college while she is in her first year. The relationship had been a close distance so that seeing each other is not very difficult. So with that giving you kind a background of what we have and where it has started, I will go into a little more detail.

Starting out in high school it was great just like every teen relationship. You have the love notes, the eagerness to see each other, and wanting to be together at every moment. The great feeling of having someone to go to the dances with and so on (I think most of you know what I mean by a high school relationship). But being involved in this relationship also had an adverse impact on me. The people that I used to hang out with and have friends with kind of deteriorated. We would still talk but there wasn't much outside of the hi and bye. I hardly ended up going to parties or bonfires and so on because I was in the relationship. I began putting her at the top of my list and a priority.