Bad memorization and learning skills, Failing tests/jobs because of it...

I'm really concerned if perhaps I'm a little slow or retarded.. As far as I can remember, I've always had a problem with learning certain skills and passing tests and memorizing things I've read or saw on a video. I did horribly in high school because of it, always failing tests no matter how hard I studied or whatever, when it came to memorizing and taking tests, I always seem to forget what I read or what I studied. I always seem to make the simplest things more complicated than what it needs to be, forgetting minor steps to a project etc etc.People have always called me the ditzy girl,slow and retarded because of my loose mindedness and I don't know if I need help or not. I can excel really well on certain things, just depends on what it is, other things I have a hard time with. I'm 25 and I've been bouncing from job to job for years..I never bothered going back to college because I feel like I would bomb just like I did in high school... I barely made it out of school.