Help needed- Is it All in my head or...

JimMills77

Newbie here and looking for some help:

Background- I'm married and my (more senior) co-worker, "A" (that I have gone and let into my head)is also married.

Let me say I have absolutely no intention of cheating (never have- never will) but I really want to know if this flirting / attraction is real or in my head. I just like to know these things!!!

I started a new job and basically kept myself to myself until I got involved in a project and began to work closely with a female colleague. I found her attractive but never dwelt on things until while we were working she placed a hand on my arm for about 10 secs. She is a very touchy feely person with everyone so I didn't think it meant too much even though it sent electric shocks through me!

Since then we've worked closely and had a great time, with more frequent touches on arm, hand shoulders etc, loads of giggles and prolonged eye contact etc. we've talked indepth about non-work issues and I admit I enjoy the company, the conversation and the "attention".

A couple of other colleagues have made jokey references to us working together and one day, "A" said directly to me with a big smile on her face that another Senior manager was asking if there was "something going on between us". She then started singing "Me and Mrs Jones". I didn't know how to reply. She then asked if I was going to the Xmas Party. The next day the same manager saw us again and said "oh the rumours will start" and my colleague put her arm around me laughed.

I'm temporary in the job and she says to me that she doesn't want me to leave, that she'll give me a crap reference so I stay. She has also asked if i'll miss working with her if I move on. Our project has wound down but I still see her and she still touches but we don't have the same time together as before although we still catch up regularly.

She has asked a few personal things about wife etc but I wouldn't say she fishes for much info.