Is it true the longer you talk to someone online,the harder it is when you meet?

hippychick11

As you all know, I am meeting my online friend very soon and I've been reading a lot of stories from other people saying that you should always meet your online friend asap rather than talking for a long time and building up an unrealistic view of them in your mind which leads to high expectations.

I've been talking to him online for 3 years and I'm worried that it could be really uncomfortable in person because I may not like to admit it, but I have got an image in my mind of who he is after all this time.

So do you think it is true that communicating with a person online for years can make the actual meeting more awkward?

Also, is it possible that meeting in person can enhance the relationship if you click? My friend and I get on incredibly well online, we're so much alike that it's scary sometimes. I just find it hard to believe that it could be better than it is now? seeing him in person could be even more exciting?

My fiance and I had been dating 4 months when we met in person. It didn't make things harder, no. It was awkward for about 20 mins but then we feel into the same routine we had had online, only it was in person. I think when you have talked for as long as you guys have you will have an expectation in your head. I had one of my fiance but he met mine and I met his - it's always a case by case bases. Meeting in person always enhances the relationship, it gives it a sense of normalcy - you just aren't words on a screen to each other or a voice on the phone or a image on the computer - you are a living, breathing, human being.