Feeling Down, want to break NC

30yrold

This is my first post, so I suppose I should give some details of my situation.

About me:

I am insecure. I had some events in my childhood that have left me with some insecurities about trust and feeling wanted that I have been working on for five years, and will probably continue to work on for the rest of my life.

However, I am an attractive, bright man working on a degree in psych, with a good amount of charisma. These gifts don't shield me from my insecurities, but only make them seem silly to other people. They are very real to me though.

I also believe that people are disposable in each other's eyes in today's society, but not in mine. I am willing to work hard on myself and a relationship, and to do things most men would not to make something work. Because of this, I think I have an unrealistic expectation that my mate should be the same.

I began dating a woman in February. I hadn't had a serious relationship in three years prior to seeing her. We met at a grocery store, as friends. She is 21 years old, and has a two year old son, and a three year old son, from different fathers. Her mother also had children very young, with different men. Her childhood held some trauma like mine, and because of that we were able to identify with each other. We hold similar values, goals, and priorities in life. Please don't judge her because of her age or her children. I have dated dozens of women, and she is a very unique and special person to have come through everything she has come through. She is very mature in some ways, but also naive in some others. This has a little to do with her age, but mostly with her socio-economic status.

Her mother had gotten pregnant as a teen too, and had never had her own place, just moved from man to man, and place to place, having a few more babies along the way. My gf was determined NOT to be like that, and wanted independence. This will come into play later.