Mature-Aged students

Hi all,

I was wondering if there were any mature aged university students here, as i would like to know their feelings on the matter.

I'm at a career crossroads in my life right now, and recently my last job was cancelled, and now with a part time job that only works 1 shift every 2 weeks or so, lately i've had a lot of spare time.

So for a while i've been thinking about going back to studies, complete a Degree which i never finished, as i had been offered a lot of jobs in my then-dream industry as soon as i got my Diploma.

I've achieved some personal life goals whilst been away from education, and thus these goals have changed, altered, or grown. It seems now i need further education on order to achieve these new life goals i've set.

I'm turning 29 at the end of the year, and i feel a little strange to be heading back to school at that age, especially sharing classes with people that will be 10 years younger than i.

Should i be feeling a little hesitant about this? Is there a reason or is it just anxiety?

around here a lot of older people take classes. they get treated just like everyone else. older people tend to take night classes and there are a lot of them. our school is nothing like the movies. it's probably full of young people in the morning but i had always taken night classes. people in the military usually study here too. they're old as well and we respect them.

Nah, its just anxiety. I finished my Associates Degree at 29 and now at 30 I have enrolled in university to get my Bachelor's. If you are really hesitant, take evening courses. Generally those have older students, because they are working during the day, and those students are generally more motivated. You also have the added bonus of hearing fewer complaints - in general- and I find the discussions are usually better.