My inability to attract a man is getting to my self esteem...

SweetJade

My self esteem is really taking a nosedive. I am just really frustrated with my attempts to attract a man. In high school I never had a real problem dating or attracting a man. It seems like ever since I graduated, something changed. It's been 5 years since I've been out of high school and I can really say the last time I seriously dated someone was back then.

Now I can't even get a man to look in my direction these days. It makes me feel unwanted,ugly and not really special. I'm kind of suffering these days because I feel lonely, I'm a little depressed and unhappy with my life right now.I really wish I could find that one special man that can fill that missing void in my life, because if I could just find one person to love me unconditionally I will be happy.

My dating attempts have been lousy and it's making me more jaded towards men by the minute. I've tried online dating only to run into the game players, men who lose interest in me suddenly or disappear. Men who were only after one thing. In 2006, I entered a verbally abusive relationship with a guy who constantly criticized me, told me how ugly I was to him and how he cheated on me constantly. For some reason his words still sting to me today and I haven't really gotten over the things he said to me and made me feel. I've somewhat haven't gotten over it..

So I gave up on online dating and I've been trying my best to be happy and live my life without focusing on finding love but I feel so empty inside. I wish I was the girl that guys would stare at and gawk at when I walk into a room but I'm hardly ever noticed by anyone. The only guy I've been able to attract was some really old creepy man at the train station a couple of months ago who seemed to be stalking me. Is that seriously the only man I can attract, some old wrinkled up man?