Losing Weight the Healthy Way

I am currently unhappy about my physical appearance due to a recent weight gain. I am 5'4 and 140 pounds. I weighed 120 pounds this time last year. I'm looking for some tips to lose weight the healthy way. I have access to a rec center at my school, and I currently take zumba classes twice a week. What kinds of workout classes will help me most with weight loss? I am also looking for any dieting tips people have (although, as a college student, I am very bad about sticking to a healthy diet).

Diet is very important to reaching your weight loss goals. Probably more so than people realize, although there are some lucky people that get a little more leeway on diet. In any case I would focus on some form of resistance training that you enjoy and some form of cardio. I would say three times a week is a good time, maybe 30 minutes of resistance, then 30 minutes of cardio, would be a good start.

I've found that my weight is directly related to my diet & not my exercise regimen much at all. In the past, I've worked out a ton more & been in way better shape than I am now, but I was 20-30lbs heavier then than I am now. However, I am on my feet a TON which probably makes me burn more calories than I did when I worked out an hour a day & sat on my butt the other 23 hours. My job requires standing/walking constantly at least 6 hours a day.

I didn't even intend to lose weight. I just moved in with my bf back to my home state, started a new job & got the depo shot (which makes most people gain weight, apparently).