Between Ambitions

Rangafro

What are you supposed to do between leaving school and figuring out what you want to do with your life? I graduated from highscool in 2006 and after 3 years I have nothing to show for it because I've never had a good solid idea what career I wanted. There is a sense of worthlessness that has been building for about 5 years now and I'm concerned with where it might take me.

The most recent thing I wanted to do was to become a teacher and I was quite passionate about it for a while until I realised I don't want to become part of an education system I don't believe in.

I was studying for a Bachelor's in Computer Science once I left highscool but dropped it because I had never been more miserable in my life than when I was sitting in that lecture hall. I don't have the motivation right now to perform well enough to complete it. I never thought I'd like it in the first place, but had hoped I could slog through just so I would have a degree qualification in something and get a half-decent job that would tide me over until I figured out what I actually wanted to do.

Problem here is I'm living with my father at the moment and he said he wont continue to support me if I don't pursue higher education. I can either join the military or GTFO. I don't want to go to uni just for the sake of it and rack up more debt. I'm not going to bother arguing with him though. I know his values.

I think moving out and reducing his influence on my life in general would do a lot for my sanity. I think I need to challenge myself lest I get too apathetic. I don't really know how to handle this transition though or what I am supposed to do once I have. I'm still left with not having any direction or meaning in my life. I'm feeling quite helpless and hopeless. At a rational level I do trust that I will find my place in the world eventually but I don't know what I should do until then.