What Love Is

Kantriakhor

Past couple weeks have been a time of turmoil, a time of clarifying issues, and a time of change. I realize that things that are easy now seem hard, though still simple in a logical way that is still obscured, like being under water and looking up to see the sky but it's still distorted and just out-of-reach. Anything that I applied myself to in life I did with purpose, with intent, with thought. I studied religions, histories, and books with a fervor; absorbing everything I could to the point where I could be certain of the consequence following each act.

Like in fencing, I know my opponent within a few minutes (if that), I know what they'll do for every action I make. I can judge the reaction, plan for it, shift it, and though I can't change their reaction I can change the action, the trigger, which in effect would change their reaction. With refereeing I learned the application of the rules, put them into practice, balanced them with knowledge and impartiality in order to call the action, to know the action.

In writing, I know the tenses needed to elicit a reaction from the reader, I know when to be edgy on an academic paper, I know when it's best to stick exactly to the letter of the rules.

This is what it boils down to in its essence: rules. I follow them, I learn them, I know when to push them and when they push back, life has rules for just about everything I ever cared for like school, writing, reading, fencing, refereeing, singing, camping, but there is no set rule for caring about someone, to love someone. There is nothing to say that if you follow rules A,B, and C that outcome D will result. The outcome could very well be another letter altogether, or a number, or a character that's wholly foreign.