found out today my job is being cut

the NSF grant that paid my salary has not been renewed. my boss told me today. he felt terrible about it.

i have worked there five years and really liked the job.

i have well into next year before the grant runs out, but i'm scared.

this has been a really bad month.

thank you for letting me vent.

I am so sorry. I am assuming that NSF is National Science Foundation? I am from Holland, also paid by a grant from the Dutch NSF so to say, and I know how hard it is to get grants and funding. Are you postdoc/analyst...? Can you apply for a grant yourself?

At least you have a year to start applying for a job. Are you in a field where you could transfer to industry?

-- best wishes for you!!

i have a grad degree, so education isn't a problem. and i have a solid record and recommendations. i'm just really sad about this. and a bit angry that the government has tons of money for their banking buddies but they have no problem cutting scientific research.

Oh yes, I totally agree. It's so frustrating. I won't go political here- but it's tempting! And this works like this everywhere. Especially fundamental research (non-applied) will the first ones to be cut out. I am sorry man.

I am so sorry. I am assuming that NSF is National Science Foundation? I am from Holland, also paid by a grant from the Dutch NSF so to say, and I know how hard it is to get grants and funding. Are you postdoc/analyst...? Can you apply for a grant yourself?

At least you have a year to start applying for a job. Are you in a field where you could transfer to industry?

-- best wishes for you!!

thanks.

yeah, NSF is the same here.

i have a masters, so i doubt i could get a grant. i'm a research assistant. i suppose i could get a doctorate, but i'm not really sure. i'm taking some time to think about it.