going nutty!

Hey everyone,

Been a _extremely_ long time since I posted, but I need some advice ...

I am artistic by nature, musical ... and I dream of doing that for a living, but sometimes it feels like it's torture to even want that. I work in hi-tech, and I have leadership position, like a team lead. I've been at the same company for 13 years, but I always keep my feelers out, checking out other places to work.

I make good pay, and I have good benefits ... I like the group I work with, and the people I work with in my immediate group ... but I cannot stand the pressure and mismanagement for "the top", I am going nuts, stressed to the max! I am really getting angry with the abuse of employees where I work, maybe I take it too personal ...

I have a chronic disease, so I can't just bail and do contract work, because it would be extremely hard on my finances ... I believe this disease contributes to my general tiredness. In any case, I feel trapped ...

I feel I should appreciate the fact I have a good job/pay ... but I feel my health will take a nosedive ... anxiety is high ... but I don't want to take meds, to gloss over my general unhappiness, possibly slight depression.

I just wish society appreciated arts ... or at least provided a method to transition careers without putting one's financial stability at risk (mortgage, family, personal goals). btw, I live in Canada is that make a difference to anyone's response ...

I am really starting to dislike where I work, but I think it would be the same at any hi-tech job ...

Thanks for listening,

goodquestion