I don't know if i have the personality to be a hair stylist.

miss_chris

I graduated a little over a year ago with my grade 12 diploma and my cosmetolgy degree. I really want to become a hair stlyist because that is what i went to school for and i got very good grades in all of my classes like 80%'s and 90%'s. I'm very good at what i do, or so i'm told but a few months ago i got a job on at a hair salon in my small town and i worked there for about 3-4 month but my boss ended up firing me because "I didn't have the right personality" and she was concerned that "maybe you're not fit out to be a hair stylist" Even though my skills are excellent! What the H-E-L-L! It fusterates me because I am a very polite person, but I don't feel the need to talk my clients ear off like most hair stlyists seem to do. IMO that's very annoying to tell your life story to someone who you don't even know. I'm also not a huge gossiper but if someone brings something up i will talk about it. I'm more of a small talk sort of person and also like to focus on my clients hair and the job i'm doing rather then yipping their ear off! Do people actually like that when they go get their hair cut for their hairdresser to tell them everything and anythign about them that seems so random?? I don't know i'm just not the person to do that sort of thing, it seems so FAKE. I'm not fake, neither can i pretend to be fake. I want my clients to come to me because of the job that i do, not because of the gossip I've heard over the week. This really discourages me because i'm not that type of person and maybe i'm not cut out to be a hair stylist even though i love what i do? I have not applied at any other salons since my last job because frankly there is not many salons to pick from in my small town of around 3,000 people. I'm thinking of moving to the city to presue hair styling, but i think that might even be more of a challange for me because you see all the hair stylists from the city all decked out and j