is separation really beneficial in healing a marriage?

drtanko

I have been married 10 years. We have no children. About 5 years ago our sex life came to an abrupt end. Since then, I have had persistent feelings of rejection. When I first recognized that there was a problem, I talked to her about this, even recommending counseling individually and together. She was not interested in counseling. She thought that time would heal this rift. I believed her. I am a physician so during most of my medical training, I was in a different state than her and she worked to help "get me through" medical school even though I also took out loans. When I returned to her, I started my residency. She was happy that I was back home but I really wasn't. Residency is very intense and so even though I would come back home I wasn't all there mentally and emotionally especially after a 45 hour shift with no sleep. Eventually things got better with my work schedule when i finished residency. The problem now is that we have become excellent roommates, and best friends. Before we rarely argued and had fun together but now we rarely speak and when we do its an argument. We still havent had sex. I cant remember the last time I had sex. I dont even care to anymore at this point. I am tired of trying to try to get her to have any interest in me. She has never been spontaneous sexually with me. More recently, she tried to be "spontaneous" with me but i can see it in her eyes and sense some rigidity likely because she is not truly interested in pleasing me but feeling guilty because we have gotten to this point. Since the sex has become an issue, other issues have arisen. I am now working and drinking way too much. I dont come home sometimes also. This has now become problematic for her as she thinks that I am trying to avoid her. I am but I have not(nor do I feel that I have to) told her that this is true. I have lost the spark for her, I am unhappy and cant imagine myself being in this relations