A trip to my old high school

Unmotivated

I graduated from high school six years ago. I've been working on my art degree in college since then. To this day I've never had a girlfriend.

I'm home visiting my parents. They are both working today. I have nothing to do, so I go for a drive. I eat some lunch at Subway. Yum. I start driving aimlessly around town and, on a whim, decide to go swing by the high school.

Class is in session. I ignore the sign that says, "Visitors please sign in at main office." These are the halls I used to walk, back when I was an overweight geek with zero social skills and even less fashion sense. I stroll through the building. Kids see me and look away. I'm different now. I'm skinny, with some neatly trimmed facial hair and a shaved head. Today I'm wearing a snazzy cap and a nice black jacket. Fleetingly, I wonder if somebody is going to think that I'm some lunatic that is here to go crazy and shoot everybody.

I didn't hate high school. I had a great group of friends, and many of those friendships are still strong today. As school lets out for the day, the halls are flooded with people. I see muscular guys in tank tops; i see skinny, geeky kids with eyes fixed to the ground; I see a guy and a girl intertwined in an embrace. From my 24-year-old vantage point, this world is now foreign to me. Something in my gut tells me that I missed some profound point when I was here. I blundered my way through, oblivious to the real lessons I was supposed to learn.

Who am I? I've been pretty successful recently in being more social and in becoming a good artist. When next semester starts I get to spend more time with a girl that I just started dating. Things are good.