I feel like I picked the wrong major

Jetta

And I don't know what to do about it. I'm in my final semester, I don't like the job opportunities and I've finally realized what field does interest me, only I don't have the money and would have to take all different courses for the most part. I'm interested in nutrition, I'm currently studying Housing Mgmt. and Finance, but I honestly am not excited about the job prospects.

Is this just some phase I'm in? I forced myself to stick it out just for the sake of sticking it out because I realized last year I liked this other major only I only had a year left. Now I'm in my last semester and dreadfully thinking about returning to obtain a degree I really want because this degree was just for the sake of getting a degree, not because I really wanted to get into this field.

What do I do? The other degree is 2 1/2 years of study to complete because it's completely different. When I was young I put chemistry down as my secondary degree choice and no one directed me toward nutrition, which is chemistry based! I just thought it was engineering and I didn't want to study that. Now here I am 15+ years later finally realizing what I wish I would have realized then. I've wasted so much time in college trying to figure out a degree path when it was right in front of me all along.

Now how do I make it happen? Do I get a job and just test the waters of the degree I actually pursued? Do I reapply for financial aid and prep myself for another 2 long years? I don't know if my family could take another two years of my education truthfully.

I'm at a crossroads and I'm needing guidance.

Hey Jetta,

Is this buyers remorse or is it a true path for you? It could also be the thought of leaving school and entering the real world of work everyday. We have all seen the professional student at the local college. Usually a guy that is way to old to be carrying a back pack, probably lives at home still and never grew up.