Resume Question.

Samedy

Alright. So I am going to be looking for a new job (because I don't like my current one).

Now 3 months ago, my supervisor gave me a number of nice sounding responsibilities, that would go a long way on a resume. Only problem is, I haven't been able to actually DO any of these responsibilities. The reason I haven't been able to do these responsibilities is because of poor management from the upper levels.

How can I put these new responsibilities on my resume. I would like to put them on my resume, because it shows I'm responsible and respected. But I can't lie about something I've never done before.

i think it depends on the job functions.

You don't want to say that you know how to set up a server ..when you really dont.

If you do something like that ..then when you are either interviewed or hired and expected to know that particular function and you don't ... you'll be worse off.

In my opinion you should be honest, you want to present your best accurate self this way you know if you are a good match with the company... it will make your life much easier once you start working at your new job.

I would not put it on a resume - what I would say in the cover letter is something like:

I have been offered the opportunity to take on significantly higher responsibilities at work in a comparatively short time. As this was a recent offer, I have not yet been able to implement the various projects with which I have been entrusted. However, I look forward to continuing on this path at your company.

(the reason i would not put it on a resume is because any way you express it you are likely to imply you are doing these things because the expectation is that you have done what is on your resume. the minor exception is if you put something like "promoted to manager effective [and put a future date] - then you are articulating a promotion that's been offered but is not yet official]