Lost wieght now have another problem

In the past 8 months I've lost 30 pounds. I would like to lose another 20 eventually. My probelm is that although I am losing it slowly like is recommended and am exercising (doing cardio and weights) my skin is not bouncing back as I would have hoped.

I have heard that your skin loses it's elasticity as you age (I am 46) and it sure it true. I have small wrinkles where I have lost weight and am afraid that if I lose antoher 20 pounds it will be even worse. Any suggestions on what I can do about this?

Hey Cinder,

First of all, well done on the weightloss!!!

I think that the 'redundant' skin is a familiar problem after a weightloss that big. I have no experience with this, but saw some people on Discovery who got plastic surgery for this. I don't know if this is a road you want to travel- honestly I think that your doctor can tell you much more if you can expect the skin to get tighter again. Seeing that you're 46, I doubt that that will really 'bounce back' completely.

I don't know if you mean stretchmarks by those wrinkles? I have them from growing very fast when I was younger, but also because I gained a lot on antidepressants a few years ago. My breast went from a AA to a full C *those were the times * and from C to A/AA again. I have those stretchmarks as well, but they got less since I have lived through some beachy summers between now and the big switch in weight in 2003 due to quitting that meds.

Arwen

No I don't mean stretch marks - I have those too. It's just a little excess skin that has not shrunk as I have. It's not much and really not noticeable I'm just worried if I lose another 20 pounds it will become much more noticeable. I feel I am losing slowly enough so I was hoping the skin would adjust with me but I guess the age factor isn't helping much. I was hoping to get some advice on how to prevent it while I work on the last 20 pounds. It might not be possible but I thought I'd ask. THanks!!!

hey cinder-