Career rut/expat prejudice

I'm in a bit of a career rut at the moment. I moved to Pittsburgh PA just over a year ago and don't know what to do in regards to my career.

I have a degree and an excellent resume and am currently working as a receptionist. This position bores me out of my mind because I am capable of so much more. However that is where all my work experience is (apart from a couple of years as a reporter) so how can I justify going for anything else?

Also, I am trying to get a job I can get to on my own at the moment as I don't drive and have been applying for many admin/reception jobs and haven't even been getting a call back! I just don't understand it, my resume is absolutely flawless in every way - I've had it evaluated by many professional people and they have all told me there is absolutely nothing that could be improved upon. Should I take my degree off my resume? That is the only thing I can think off that might be putting off potential employers maybe they think 'this woman has got a degree and is way over qualified so why does she want a job as a receptionist?'

The problem is I don't really WANT to be a receptionist but what else can I do?

I have recently made friends with another green card holding British expat who says she has had similar problems getting employment; do you think there is some subconscious prejudice there towards foreigners?

I missed out on a job once because they saw my degree and said i was over-qualified and that they were afraid that i would move on after a year. It took you all that time to get your degree so i don't see why you should take it off your resume.

Are you making sure you address the criteria in your cover letter? Most job websites etc. suggest that you tailor your resume to each individual job application, and to take off the irrelevant stuff.

I don't understand why you are not applying for jobs in your field though?