Brother is making my mother 'walk on eggshells'

Hi there everyone,

I am new to this particular forum. I just thought I'd right you guys to see what you think of this situation and what may be done. My brother (22 years old) has an anger problem, in my opinion. He doesn't like a lot of the things I say, often saying 'Oh you just say whatever comes to your mind, don't you?' and at times acting closed off and passive aggressive when I say something he doesn't like, but he never mentions it to me, until it hits a boiling point with him and he unleashes his rage on me. Then suddenly he will be throwing things out at me like, things I said weeks or days ago that he didn't like, and at the time I didn't know he didn't like.

He does the same thing to my mother and my mother describes it as 'walking on eggshells' constantly (I on the other hand will not walk on eggshells around him). She does it well, and she will often bend to his will to avoid a fight.

I feel so bad for my mother as it is stressful always walking on eggshells and I do not think it's fair that my brother treats her that way, as well as me. My father and other brother are exempt from his anger. It's just us two, and mostly me, that he has a problem with.

I don't have a problem with him at all, and I feel free to act myself around him until something like this happens and he reduces me to tears. I have finally decided that he is not someone I can trust and that I will have to change my behaviour around him, i.e I'll probably not be able to talk around him.

We all live together right now, as I just got out a of a relationship and am getting back on my feet.

My brother also seems to have a problem with alcohol, he binge drinks and it seems he is only nice and understanding towards me when he is drunk. This is the only time he will actually want to talk to me about meaningful things.