Stuck in a rut.

Psych

Hi ENA,

Re: my life, I see a huge rut on the horizon that is already beginning. Words of wisdom and/or encouragement from anyone who is or has been where I am would be much appreciated. Behold: the essentials of my life story to date.

When I pursued my Bachelor’s degree, I took the common strategy of staying close to home for convenience and affordability. Home is a farm in the middle of nowhere, and the closest university was in a city that I was already familiar and comfortable with. By my standards at the time, the city was big and exciting. When I finished my degree, I found a job that I loved in the same city. So I stayed and worked at that job for 4 years. Over the 9 years I lived there, I grew bored with the city. I did everything there was to do, almost all of my friends left for better things, it grew increasingly hard to meet new friends, and my dating life ceased to the point that I thought there was something wrong with me. So 2 years ago, I made a change.

Since I loved my job and hated my city, I took an education leave from my job to pursue a Master’s degree in my profession in a new, much bigger city accross the country. I absolutely adored it! It had scenery, culture, history, and all types of people. I met people who share my interests. I made friends. I dated. I earned my Master’s degree and launched an unsuccessful job hunt, which landed me back at my old job, in the city I hate.

The one perk to being back in the city I’ve outgrown is that I was granted a good (albeit temporary) promotion. I am using my Master’s degree, but only for the rest of the fiscal year. In April, I will have to step back down to my old job, for which I am now overqualified and would find dull and unfulfilling.

My dilemma: