Open Club  ·  31 members  ·  Free

Travel and Culture

Anyone Moved to a New Country Recently?

Madamdiva007

I moved alone to Germany almost two years ago. It's not easy, but I wouldn't go back.

The thing I feel that is the most difficult one, is friends. I am 29, was 27 when I came here. I met some people, mainly at work. But I start realising that the friends I made, already have their lives established, their circle of friends, their routines, while I was starting all this from beginning. So, it becomes difficult to enter their lives. I am not very good at making friends and I am not good at first sights, people usually think I'm not nice at the beginning which only makes everything harder.

In my home country, I have maybe four friends that I can say, will be my friends forever. Friends who I can aways count on for everything. I realise now, how many people did I meet in those 27 years home, and how many stayed in my life.

Well, I have friends here to whom I can turn to if I'm feeling bad or if I need something or to go out with. But if it's the other way around, if they need a friend, I am not the one they turn to. They have other people to do this. So I guess I am not anyones first choice here.

I recently heard about this site, Meetup. There are groups of people to go into activities. And there are many groups of international people who are in the same situation. I went to one meeting so far and made one friend with whom I met once again after. I realise I have to meet many people. Many will come and go but some might stay and become good friends. Could you consider trying this as well?

So that is my summarised story and my main concern.

I moved to a developing country also about six months ago (but I was testing it out for a while before deciding to stay).

My struggles are: