Advice needed. Ex girlfriend problems.

dtorbitt

Hi, I am new to the world of forums and posts so please be gentle with me!

My girlfriend of just over 2 years broke up with me a little over 6 months ago. However in that time we were still dating and hanging out together, we even went on holiday together in June and had a great time.

Whenever we got back from holiday, she decided that enough was enough and asked to cut ties with me.

I realise that its important for me to respect her wishes, but it has been difficult because I could see that we were really starting to get back on track again and we were truly enjoying ourselves.

The last time we spoke was 2 weeks ago now and im still not ready to give up on this. I am prepared to wait a little bit longer before making initial contact again.

I think she believes that i want to jump straight back in to a relationship with her, but in reality i want to try and start fresh again, dating, hanging out etc in an attempt to see if she thinks anything could be possible.

I am a strong believer in the fact that romance truly is not dead, so i have written a letter to her and have acquired the 7inch single of one of the first songs i ever played to her. My plan was to arrive on her doorstep an evening with these and a bunch of flowers and then ask her to accompany me to dinner.

I am already prepared for the fact that she might turn me down there and then, but she knows that i always give it my all so i know she would at least appreciate the gesture.

Any advice from anyone at all would be greatly appreciated. I genuinely have no idea as to whether or not this is a good idea or how anyone else would react in this situation. Please help.

Thank you.

I apologise if I am posting in the wrong place.