Is Love After Divorce Possible?

Here's my story.

I married my high school sweetheart in 2008, roughly a year after I graduated. In total, we were together eight years. About a year and a half after we married, we welcomed a beautiful daughter into the world. Trust never seemed to be an issue with us; however, one afternoon one comment was made that forced me to question my trust with him. It came out nowhere, the words are still deeply embedded in my brain. He said, "If you ever cheated on me, I just don't think I could leave you."

My first reaction was disbelief, I mean, who says that?! In the midst of all of this, he had been talking an awful lot about a nurse who worked with him. To make a long story short, he left me. We went through a lengthy separation, we were on again and off again (in part due to me being in denial and not wanting to let go). When things finally ended, about two weeks later this nurse was also getting a divorce. Shortly after that, she moved in with him.

Yes, I know this sort of thing happens all the time these days. Some things that make this a little unique is the fact that shortly after moving in, my daughter starts referring to this new woman as "mama". I am a great mother to my daughter, I have primary custody of her, I provide for her, I do all the things a real mother should do. Now, this woman that ruined my marriage is trying to take credit for my child too? It gets worse. In May of last year, they marry. A month or two later, she's pregnant. In July of last year, I was served with papers with them seeking full custody of my daughter. I am a struggling single-mom. They both have substantial incomes; however, what the case has boiled down to is them not wanting to pay child support. We are still going back and forth, counter offer after counter offer, to get this resolved.