Distance relationships: How were your experiences like?

wsim

Hello again,

Things have changed for the better in recent weeks, as I have been talking to a girl for a couple of months now and have been on one date. I am seeing her again for a few days in December, before she has to go overseas to visit her family and friends for the Christmas holidays. We talk on the phone for about 1-2 hours everyday, and connect well so far. As well, we have agreed to take it one step at a time although were are both interested and committed to give long-distance a try for awhile.

It isn't exactly long-distance, but about a 2-3 hour commute each way that requires a ferry trip. However, since she is busy with her post-graduate studies and I work full-time, we only see each other about once a month right now. The most challenging part is that we miss each other but accept that our time together must be cherished.

What are some of your distance relationship stories like if you have experienced them before? I know that most people generally shy away from them, although with this girl we both are willing to make it work for now.

I am having difficulty thinking of a suitable Christmas gift to give her before she leaves to Asia. Any suggestions? I was thinking of something like a scarf or chocolates along with a personalized card.