broken up after 1 yr still not over him - ADVICE HELP!!

Chloe1

i've never done this before but it seems like it's the right thing to do! advice!

My ex and i met when we were 14 and became extremely close and became best friends. he was and still is my first ever love . We were both in the same very tight friendship group which was great because we always saw eachother. Throughout highschool we started dating and we both immediately fell in love with eachother. we dated for 4 and a half years until he broke it off after graduation because he wanted to be independent and go travelling around the world. he told me he loved me and he always would, and he didn't want to be with other girls..i was so heartbroken and hurt i just can't imagine my life without him. The bad thing is that we both didn't stop seeing and speaking to eachother because we loved eachother so much

it wasn't a typical relationship aswell, we weren't all PDA in front of people, we were just more like best friends who got along so well and hung out every weekend.

he eventually went travelling a few months after the break up, and in that few months we kept 'seeing' each other. that is my one regret. he went for 3 months, and i spoke to him, and even 'met up' him in vietnam where my parents were staying. i was so hurt by him that i rejected the idea of us being broken up. i then went away with my family when he returned and we were still talking, all the while i knew he had slept and kissed other girls, (one of which was my friend) as he told me.we kept talking because of our friendship group, and because i felt we still had a connection, and now i have been completely phased out of the group and now i can't stop thinking about him more and more because there is no distractions besides work.