When an ex might cause problems in a new relationship

adyghost

First let me start off by saying my ex broke up with me in late August and we've just started communicating again about 2 months ago. It's my first attempt at the whole "let's be friends" thing.

I just started dating someone a few weeks ago and it's absolutely amazing so far. A few days ago I posted something on my ex's Facebook account, a Youtube video she's been searching for, and my new love interest saw it. So I promptly receive a text asking if me if my ex and I talk frequently (I told her before as well that we barely even talk to each other), telling me it's weird when stuff like that shows up in her newsfeed and she'd rather not see it. She did say she understands and respects my past history and she changed her settings so as to not see notifications involving my ex.

Now, I understand how my girl feels and the last thing I want to do is be disrespectful. But I just shared a video, it's not even communicating... Am I being a jerk to this girl by Facebooking with my ex? It's been three times in the past month and a half, if that...

Why are you communicating again with your ex if you have a girlfriend? This is not the case where you have an ex from 10 years ago that you stayed friends with and feel is a genuine platonic friend. If your friendship with your ex consists of sharing videos and posting on Facebook, it is not a meaningful friendship. If I were you, I would have no problem stopping the twittering, instagramming, whatever and other idle things, especially if this "started communicating again" was after you started seeing your current gf. That's just my take.

Your girlfriend handled it admirable, she didn't freak out, but she did let you know that she didn't find it cool. She did raise a legitimate question about your contact, etc. If you like this girl, I would stop trying to reestablish some artificial friendship with your ex.