So many issues with my dad, please help!

Rockyr87

I moved into an apartment with my dad after I graduated college to help him through his "divorce". I'm beginning to genuinely regret it because every time I talk to him I just get wound up and agitated. Every time he comes home from work he basically just drinks himself to sleep and is impossible to talk to. Whenever I do talk to him he just treats me like a doormat cause he doesn't have my stepmom to yell at. Now my younger brother comes over every single day and my dad will only do stuff with him. I work long hours and when I do have a day off and I ask my dad if he wants to do something he just does something with my brother. Some days I just want to leave and never look back. What should I do?

Your job is not to 'help' your dad through his divorce; this is a completely inappropriate form of emotional incest. He is an adult, it sounds as though he's got a developing drink problem and was abusive to your stepmom. It's not your responsibility to take her place, though I'm guessing that you now have a very clear insight into why they broke up.

I'm not surprised you just want to leave, and that is exactly what you MUST do. As it is you are unwittingly enabling his drinking and other dysfunctional behaviours. This doesn't mean you never look back, necessarily. You could still phone once a week, say, and if he's not capable of talking to you in a reasonable manner then don't even try. In Alanon and CoDependents Anonymous there is an expression 'to detach with love', which means you do not involve yourself directly in the other person's business, let them get on with it whilst still continuing to care about them. This means that you stop caring FOR them, i.e. trying to do things which they can, and should, be doing for themselves. Your first responsibility is to yourself.