Broke No Contact, Dead End Conversation, Panic Ensued

After a two months of virtually no contact (aside from a return email telling her I needed time before I could talk to her again) with my ex of two years, I contacted her today to ask her if she was alright from the aftermath of hurricane Sandy in NYC where she lives. After she said she was okay, thanked me for asking and then asked if I was okay too, I proceeded to ask her if she was still interested in "catching up" as I thought I was ready. She replied that she did want to catch up and asked me how school was going (I'm an returning adult student). Apparently it only took one text to ruin everything...

I replied that school was "going really well," that I was enjoying it very much so far, that I "switched majors for career viability" reasons and I proceeded to say some ridiculous thing about "reigniting my creativity through physical art" or something like that. To which I put in quotes as kind of a sarcastically pretentious thing to say. I then asked her how her job was going and if she had found new work.

For the rest of the day it's been silence. Nothing. And my mind wanders and strays into the worst possible scenarios. I can't focus because I keep analyzing and deconstructing my text, wondering if, knowing I said too much, something wrong, everything wrong. I know the possibility exists that her silence has nothing to do with me; that she's just busy working, having fun, sleeping with her new boyfriend she may or may not have but probably does. I try to tell myself that replying to her ex is at the bottom of a long list of priorities but my narcissism and my intense feelings for her are still too strong to ignore the idea that she can see that I'm just still not ready and has responded in kind. That she can read between the lines and see that I'm trying too hard to convince her that I'm doing well.