Hello - I'm new here (:

I'm 23 years old and I'm currently in my final year of my degree. However for the past 3 years I've been dealing with clinical depression and social anxiety. This has caused a problem and seriously affected my studies so now I'm looking in to the process of intermission (leaving studies and returning at a later date). I can't really specifically pin point what has caused my depression but it's completely consumed me and it clouds my judgement on everything. Before you ask, no I have not been "suicidal" but I have pondered what it would be like if I didn't exist. I have been treated by a GP and I am on medication which has worked once it kicked in but I can still feel that shadow of misery inside even when I'm having a good day. I can just feel something looming around me. It has taken away my social life as I have isolated myself from the world because I feel far too anxious to go outside which is very uncharacteristic of me. I feel like I can't face the world and when I'm forced to leave my flat to either go to university or work or even the corner shop I literally break down and become mentally exhausted from it. It has sucked all the enjoyment out of the activities I normally enjoy and I can't focus on anything. For example I can normally watch a film without getting up but whilst I have been depressed I have to pause the film every 5 minutes or so to get up and wander around my flat .... It's really rather maddening.