I could be screwed

I like this girl, obviously. I think she likes me, and other people have told me that she does. This one guy, who I guess is my friend, a few weeks ago, asked me who I liked, and I said Caitlin, and he told me to ask her out, and I said I would. Anyway, two weeks later tomorrow, I still haven't done it. A bunch of people in my class have found out, and are pressuring me to get it over with. Someone might tell her, which would be bad, but there are other problems. First of all, she's always with her girl friends, so I never really gat a huge opurtunity. Second, I've heard she likes this senior guy, (I'm a sophomore, she's a freshman) but doesn't want a boyfriend. She doesn't seem to like him any better than me though. Just he likes her, and he took her to the semi two months ago (it's the same girl, that I wanted to take, BTW). Also, whenever I get the chance, I feel like an idiot, and so I don't do anything except maybe say "Hi Caitlin" or something. I'm afraid of rejection, because I've already been rejected once this year, by another girl. She might find it weird if I'm just going to go up to her and say "Will you go out with me?" to her. What should I do? Please advise.

There's a lot of ways to begin with before the "would you like to go out with me" phrase. If the 1st thing that comes out of your mouth is asking her out, she'd either feel defensive, and just outright refuse you, even maybe she also likes you; or you get lucky, but I think the chances are not good. So i'd recommend the following.