Do you ever feel like a loser because of your chosen profession, or lack thereof

noneStar

I'm an engineer. I don't really like being one, never did, but can't think of anything I'd be capable of doing and feel a little too old at 31 to change. Sometimes I feel like a loser when I compare myself to people in professions are more prestigious and higher paying like doctors, lawyers, investment bankers, or even miners making a killing like this guy link removed

It's depressing.

How do you change your mindset to stop comparing, or to be happy with whatever you have. I find it really hard.

You have a job. You're not a junkie living in an alley.

Sure things could be better, but they could be a hell of alot worse.

I just can't put that into my head. I actually know it could be first hand with vivid examples, like cousins in the home country that go off to the gulf region and work like slaves doing construction labor for less than $200-$400 a month.

I worked a lot of hours once upon a time...I did shift work at nuclear power plants where I worked 12 hour shifts for 12 days straight, took two days off and repeated the cycle. I made ok $ with OT, but it didn't last since the project ended and I'm back to a regular pay. At least, doctors and IBers, have a steady supply of longer hours so they always have the opportunity to get paid if they put in the work or have to take stress leave. I concur that they earn what they make, and I'm not at all displeased with them. I just feel beneath them and displeased with myself.

Keep searching on the internet... you'll find lots of stories where there is a huge surplus of lawyers in many areas. These people took out a huge chunk of change for education only to find a job not there. There are stories of lawyers working as housecleaners... going for interviews and being told there will be no partner track available... or being told they will be earning much less than expected and if they don't take it the next guy in line will.