Divorce (or Break-up) Ritual or Ceremony for moving on — Have you done one?

I was going to ask that same question because I am going to Hawaii on Thursday and wanted to do something near the Ocean. I thought of gathering stones and holding each one close to my heart, and then allowing whatever thought or feeling needed to be released flow into the stones. And then when ready, casting the stones into the Ocean.

And I also thought of writing what I am grateful for and burning a candle and asking for healing both for myself and my ex.... I am still conjuring up ideas so hoping some others have some ideas.

I tied two rocks together and threw them in the ocean*

I also had an old table of hers I was sposed to fix.....

I fixed it alright....It's now a pile of ashes in the backyard 8-)

Such ceremonies can definitely be carthartic...Burning things is good*

Ever Forward

Carus* 8-)

Hmm, I have never done this before - it reminds me of when I was 16 and my best mate, after we left secondary school, put all her school books, textbooks and so on in a big pile in her garden and yep, set fire to the lot! She danced around the fire like a crazy woman, haha! It's not something I've ever considered but it obviously works for some people to mark an end to a particular part of their lives

Thanks for your replies. I'm thinking of doing something symbolic to help bring closure, something that acknowledges the transition. Exploring online, I've come accross divorce ceremonies, rituals, and parties, each with a different purpose, all to aid in moving on. We have rituals for life's major transitions, marriage, death, birthdays, new years, holidays, and I think they serve a purpose on a deep level (some more than others).