Help! I'm the abuser in the relationship and want to change!

uglywitch

Yeah, I'm assuming you read the title. Can it turn healthy and is it worth staying with someone who is?

I just realized I'm in a abusive relationship after reading a few articles on it. And I'm the abuser.

Please hear (or rather read) me out first:

I have never been so insecure and jealous in a relationship before. In fact, this is the first time for me.

It's gotten to the point where I realized what an ugly person I'm turning into and I blamed my partner for it

since I think (and still do) that it's his fault I'm so jealous and insecure in the relationship.

Yes, everyone flirts and I understand it is okay as long as nothing happens, however, this is my first time

dating a huge flirt and it set me on edge and I would become extremely uncomfortable and get into this negative

attitude anytime he flirted with someone in front of me. Eventually, over time he stopped doing it in front of me

after having several discussions. But my insecurity didn't stop there.

Any woman he talked to that I perceived as a threat, I would instantly get jealous and suspicious and I would go

through his phone and internet history. And I would find nothing. But I became obsessed with checking his messages

and he is aware that I do check it. I have even called him and his female friends who I think are flirting with him (behind their backs)

numerous awful names. I've even asked him to stop being friends with one of his female friends who has kissed him in the past.

In fact, any female friend who had or has an interest in flirting/dating him, I've asked him to cut them out of his life.

I haven't asked him for this but he does tell me where he is going and with whom so that I don't panic about where he is.

I will admit, it is nice to know where he is at times since I'm extremely paranoid he will cheat on me, but I don't call him to

make sure he's where he says he is.